Waukee Cheerleaders take top awards at 2012 State Championship Competition

On November 3, Waukee High School’s Competition Cheer and Stunt Squads participated in the 2012 State Cheerleading Championships and were named 1st Place in the 4A Division for Cheer and Stunt Group.  In addition to these two state titles, Waukee’s second Stunt Group took 4th Place in the Large School Stunt Division, beating out a field of 37 teams and the Purple Competition Squad placed 5th in its Large School Time Out Division.

The 2012 Iowa Cheerleading Coaches Association State Competition is the largest and most prestigious state cheerleading competition in Iowa for high school cheerleading squads. More than 150 cheer teams made up of approximately 1000 cheerleaders from all across the State of Iowa participated in this event comprising 12 divisions ranging from small schools (1A) to large schools (4A & 4A Large).

Waukee was represented by its Gold Competition Squad in the 4A Cheer Division, 2 stunt groups in the Stunt Team Large Division and its Purple Squad in the Time Out Large School Division.  The Gold Squad performed one of the most difficult routines of the day achieving Elite Difficulty classifications in all aspects of the routine including standing and running tumbling, jumps, stunts, tosses and pyramids. The Waukee competition cheerleaders invested more than 100 hours of practice time towards their routines and their hard work and their determination paid off.  The Gold Competition Squad will be traveling to Dallas, TX during the first week of January to compete in the 2013 NCA National High School Cheerleading Championships.

As a result of being named State Champions, Waukee’s Gold Squad will perform at half-time at one of the State Basketball Semi-final games during the Boys’ State Championship Tournament in March.

Members of Waukee’s Competition Cheer squads:

 State Championship Gold Squad

Nicole Allen, Sheldon Buss, Emily Carlson, Miranda Conner, Taylor Cork, Megan DeMouth, Emma Drees, Kassidy Hays, Kendall Hays, Ally Lovan, Mara Mapes, Tori Monroe, Brittany Novak, Olivia Prohaska, Samantha Schaefer, Audrey Wood.  (Alternates:  Karly Artino, Talia Buss, Morgan Potts)

State Championship Stunt Team (Team B)

Miranda Conner, Taylor Cork, Emma Drees, Kendall Hays, Audrey Wood (alternate: Tori Monroe)

Stunt Team A – 4th Place

Sheldon Buss, Megan DeMouth, Ally Lovan, Kassidy Hays, Samantha Schaefer

Competition Purple Squad

Maddie Chilton, Katie Markey, Diana Clark, Brooklyn Allison, Amber Holloway, Tori Goertz, Hailey Buzynski, Emily Markey, Talia Buss, Rylie Dunn, Katie Schaffer, Olivia Wood, Sawyer Wiese, Missy Crow, Breann Pieretti, Olivia Perez, Maddie Hess


560 Southeast University Avenue
Waukee, Iowa 50263
Phone 515.987.5161
Fax 515.987.2701