8 Waukee CSD Seniors Named National Merit Finalists

Eight Waukee CSD seniors have been named National Merit finalists in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

All finalists were first dubbed semifinalists earlier this school year. After that, the students and a high school official submitted a detailed scholarship application providing information about academic records, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards. The student must also have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Congratulations to our National Merit Finalists

NWHS Students

  • Saahas Jetti
  • Amelia Hanson
  • Alexandra Hurley
  • Abby Adams


WHS students

  • Adrian Valluppara
  • Defne Tekinalp
  • Lily Voynov
  • Caleb Chervenka


What’s Next for National Merit Finalists?

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2024. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships awarded on a state-representational basis. About 840 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 160 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria. In addition, about 160 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 3,800 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

The 2024 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April. The scholarship recipients will join nearly 375,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.