Four Seniors Awarded Dluhos-Vavra Scholarship

Committees at each Waukee CSD high school have identified the recipients of the 2024 Dluhos-Vavra Scholarship, with each graduate receiving $2,250.

2024 Dluhos-Vavra Scholarship Recipients

  • Achsah Lule of Waukee High School is heading to DMACC to work on a finance degree
  • Liya Neopaney of Waukee High School is attending DMACC and studying finance
  • Luke Eibes of Northwest High School is starting at Kirkwood Community College with plans to pursue a degree in business
  • Lily Severson of Northwest High School is studying at the University of Iowa to double major in economics and political science

Carol Dluhos and Edward Vavra generously endowed the Waukee Community School District with funds to provide four, annual scholarships (in perpetuity). The scholarship program began in 2022 with the Community Foundation of Des Moines managing the funds.

Carol Dluhos grew up in Waukee, a descendant of the Shuler miners and a 1946 graduate of Waukee High School. Her husband, Edward Vavra, was born in Cedar Rapids and graduated from McKinley High School in 1947. He served in the Army and Air Force National Guard, graduated from Indiana University with a Master’s Degree in Business Administration, and retired from Principal Financial Group in 1990. 

IMG 7480 IMG 7501