Waukee High School Announces Finalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of the nationwide set of Finalists in the 57th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $34 million that will be offered this spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship Award, these finalists must have fulfilled several requirements to advance to this level of the competition.

Waukee High School Principal Kirk Johnson announced Feb. 6 that Waukee students Kyle Cutler and Bailey McClurg have been named National Merit Finalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 1.5 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The nationwide pool of Finalists, which represents less than one percent of US high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

Johnson commented, “Waukee High School and the Waukee Community School District praise Kyle and Bailey for this exceptional educational accomplishment.” Johnson continued, “Both of these young people have opened doors to multiple opportunities through their hard work and commitment to exceptional levels of achievement.”

560 Southeast University Avenue
Waukee, Iowa 50263
Phone 515.987.5161
Fax 515.987.2701